I was amazed that Doug Wilson said what he said about this. I thought that I had nothing else to contribute to the buzz, but I think it is important to note that this action by McCain speaks louder than his words. I am curious what ya’ll think.

Update: I read the story of Deborah again, and was struck by a few things. As John Barach points out in Doug’s blog, Deborah is a wife, and describes herself as a mother of Israel. She sits in judgement on the men of Israel, and does go to war with Barak. To me this suggests that she is more than a prophetess, she is a leader. Even if she is a leader by virtue of being a prophetess first, she is a leader in a time of war.

It may be true that Deborah is a mocking of the men of Israel, since she is the only female judge, but I think that if you look at the follow up to the battle in Judges 4, you see the story of Jael, and this should bear on our understanding of the role of Deborah. Jael, Heber’s wife, takes executive action, killing king Jabin as he fled from Deborah and Barak. Later in Judges 5:24 Jael is spoken of as the “Most blessed of women.”

So the story of Deborah is really the story of 2 women who together with Barak save Israel from a wicked king. Barak, like Adam, Abraham, and countless others before and since fails to heed God’s word. But God purposes for the salvation of Israel to come from those 2 women in that instance. Based on this, I think that Deborah is more a proof for the role that Palin has been selected for than a proof against her becoming VP.

