Live Free or Die Hard
It’s a very rare occurrence these days that when I get my hopes up for a movie, I leave the theater feeling as pleased as I expected to. My current habit for most movies is to read a critical review prior to watching it, so that if it turns out to be even just a mediocre film, I am pleasantly surprised and still enjoy the movie. In the case of Live Free or Die Hard, I was hard pressed to find a negative review and consequently had pretty high hopes. In the end, Die Hard paid off. It was worth my eight bucks and then some. Each Die Hard film in the series seems to steadily increase the stakes. Live Free or Die Hard had the highest stakes yet and it definitely made for a thrilling film. No, it wasn’t anything for cinematic history, but yes, it was totally freaking awesome.

Transformers
This movie was just fun. I could probably nit-pick if I wanted to. I had heard rumors that this movie was going to have a huge global warming theme to it and I was actually pleasantly surprised by how prominently the theme of self-sacrifice was.

The Simpsons Movie
My only real criticism of this movie needs some introduction. In all the years I’ve watched the Simpsons, they are very careful to comically critique all folks. Both liberals AND conservatives are lampooned. It’s like equal opportunity mockery. In this film, I was a little surprised that they didn’t end up really lampooning global warming like they usually do. They finally bought into something which was a little disappointing. Besides that however, the movie was great fun and if you didn’t stay through the credits, you really missed out. BIG TIME.

The Bourne Ultimatum
I thought the second Bourne movie was totally dumb because they killed off his love interest like five minutes in. In action movies like this, it is very easy to have only one type of tension and drama. The kind that is two-dimensional, revolves exclusively around the events happening, and is handily resolved when the circumstances become better at the end of the movie. Frankly, it adds a quite a bit of depth to a movie when there is not only tension between the protagonist and his circumstances or the protagonist and the antagonist, but when there is also tension between the protagonist and secondary characters on his own side. In this case, the lack of a romantic interest in the second movie, totally undercut it. In the third movie however, I think they realized this and did their best to reinstate this romantic tension. Overall, I was please with this third installment and thought it provided a fitting end to the series. (I have heard rumors though, that there is a fourth book in the works which suggests their might be another movie.)

Stardust
I just saw this movie recently without ever having seen a trailer for it. One of my friends was really excited about it frankly, I had no idea what to expect. If you are a fan of cult classics, (i.e. movies like The Dark Crystal, Labyrinth, Ladyhawke, and Willow) I am fairly confident that you will enjoy this movie. It definitely has parts that feel shamelessly ripped from other recent fantasy works (when you see them, you’ll know what I’m talking about), but overall it carves a new niche for itself and is rather enjoyable in the process. Oh, and there is a bit of adult humor which livens it up a bit too.

Coming Soon (When the movies come out): American Gangster, 3:10 to Yuma, Get Smart, The Darjeeling Limited, No Country for Old Men, and probably others…

