I was reminded tonight of a thought that crossed my mind a few days ago. The other day, I was browsing this thread on the Concept Art website (HT: Stephen Hendersen) of a gentleman who started as a complete novice artistically, but challenged himself to work on a painting or sketch everyday. While I was noting the progress he made, I made a connection that probably should’ve been obvious to me long before now.

When a artist begins a painting, he generally begins by first painting the background. This gives us an idea of the overall context for the picture. Is it nighttime? Is it indoors or out? As he continues on the painting, he’ll move on to the larger items in the foreground, creating trees or furniture, and as he’s nearing completion, he’ll add the finishing touches and the fine details. As I was looking at the stars tonight, I was struck by the similarities that this has to God’s own creation. When God created the world, he began with the background; light and darkness, sun, moon, and stars. As he progressed, he moved on to larger elements of the foreground, the earth and waters, and finally as he fashioned the earth, he formed the landscape, the animals, and finally mankind. And man and woman were the final touches that made his creation very good.

I think that oftentimes, we give lip-service to God, citing him as ultimate creator, the first artist and so on, but that is as far as we go. What we often fail to notice is this initial act of creation was not just a science project or a good and true story, but it is also the retelling of the first painting. It is the retelling of God the Artist’s work of art and what a work of art it is.

