I was watching 50 First Dates the other night, and was struck by the supporting characters. In fact all Adam Sandler movies seem to have that cast of weird people who are always on the sidelines, providing sight gags or one liners. And as I was ruminating about it, I thought back to the “rude mechanicals” and their play in A Midsummer Night’s Dream. It really seems like a lot of the same thing, except Adam Sandler seems to have tied them all closer together. So while my first instinct would be to write it off as just plain weird and sometimes a little twisted and sometimes a little crude, I can’t because Shakespeare introduced the type of character. Now, question (as Dwight would say): does anyone agree, and if so, do you think it is better to intersperse the mechanicals in the movie, or to give them their own part, like the play?

