As American’s, it is often much easier to invest our emotions in American tradgedies. When part of the nation is hurting, as a result of tradgedies like the miners and the recent hurricanes, it just seems natural that we mourn with them. We share an identity as Americans with them and so we hurt along side them.

But answer me this. Shouldn’t we as Christians first and American’s second be more heart broken over our Christian brothers and sisters who are under intense persecution in other countries. I came upon this website called Prisoner Alert over Christmas break via the Voice of the Martyrs website and was convicted about who I more often allowed my identity to lay with. I encourage any of you who read this to try and remind yourselves on a regular basis of these brothers and sisters who are under persecution and at the very least to pray for them.

