Phil Johnson over at PyroManiac is coming under fire(no pun intended) for a comic book cover spoof poking fun at the Boar’s Head Tavern. I’ve been a regular reader at PyroManiac and can honestly say that sometimes I have agreed with him and other times I have disagreed, however, I still appreciate what he contributes on a regular basis. What I am amazed at is the amount of shrill and whiny disgust that 90% of the commenters have left in response to the post. Instead of this lowering my opinion of Mr. Johnson, it has actually lowered my opinion of that generous portion of his apparent readership. It seems like there are a multitude of people have bought the lie that truth is always nice and sarcasm or poking fun has no place in the life of a Christian. I would point to the Pharisees being called whitewashed tombs full of dead mens bones by Christ. When Christ came across ‘religious pomposity’ (as Doug Wilson calls it) it was more than reasonable for him to use a little bite to get their attention. “But the Pharisee’s were serious and devout” one could argue. This is true, but that is exactly the reason they needed a knock or two. One can and probably should make an effort to set others straight directly and in no uncertain terms. But if they continue blindly, a healthier slap can be neccessary. I don’t know Phil’s specific reasons for the comic he fabricated, but it seems like it did it’s job. When the pretentiousness goes overboard, it may just be time for a little jab to really get their attention. Satire’s not a good habit to get into, but I think it is fair to say that Phil balances his jabs with genuinely beneficial material for his readers. Some of his readers just need to lighten up.

