It’s funny, I started off being against the idea of a Lord of the Rings movie. I changed my mind because the movies were great (despite what ND Wilson says about them), though in the abstract I do wish they had never been made. Since they have, then I’m a fan. God brings good out of evil.

I am much more skeptical about these Narnia films. I haven’t read hardly anything about them – and I will have to do a bit more before I make a final decision. But, as another great fan disappointer, George Lucas, has penned many times, “I have a bad feeling about this.” Take this article in USA Today. Under the picture of Susan, it says this: “Unlike the book, both Susan and sister Lucy take part in battle.” It would be one thing if the book was silent on the issue. But Jack Lewis goes out of his way to squish such an idea. Take this quote from the end of chapter ten (Father Christmas is speaking):

“For you [Lucy] are also not to fight.”
“Why, sir?” said Lucy. “I think – I don’t know – but I think I could be brave enough.”
“That is not the point,” he said. “But battles are ugly when women fight.”

The article also quotes Lewis wisely stating something I think we’ll find true about the Narnia movies. Terry Lindvall, author of Surprised by Laughter: The Comic World of C.S. Lewis, has this to say. “[Lewis] believed there was death in the camera. Meaning, when you translate word to image, the imagination dies.”

‘Nuff said.

